It is not polite to point

My BB makes me laugh.

The other night we watched videos.  When we were done, she cleared off the T.V stands and headed upstairs to the kitchen to put things away.

But when she passed by our de-humidifier she said, “Can you turn that back on?”  (Our television is in the lower level of our house just up from the basement.  The de-humidifier drones and detracts from the videos)  The funny thing was, she points at it with her foot!  Now who does that?

I found it simply hilarious and the more I thought about it, the funnier it became until I was splitting a gut.  BB says it is perfectly normal for a person to point with their foot.  I have heard of nodding towards something with your head if your hands are full, but pointing at it with your foot?  That was a new one…

I used to listen to The Point @ 102.5 while I was living in Florida…

Now I’ve heard of teaching your dog to point or fishing off the point in Nova Scotia…

I’ve even heard of the album, Bless Its Pointed Little Head by Jefferson Airplane

But I’ve never seen someone point with their foot.  I know that some stretches require that you “point your toes” but that is not the same thing.

I also know that … “the point of a gun was the only law Liberty understood.”  At least according to Gene Pitney.

They say that when you point your finger at someone there are three more pointing back at you…

And I was told when I was growing up that it was not polite to point (otherwise people will know you are talking about them).

I’ve heard of West Point and Zabriskie Point http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zabriskie_Point and even seen Grosse Point Blank.

Maybe some folks are an old hand at pointing with their foot, but it is news to me.  So if you have an amusing story to tell about pointing with this particular extremity, let me know.

Otherwise this post risks being…  pointless.

peace.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “It is not polite to point”

  1. Chantal Says:

    I’m glad my foot-pointing amuses you so. I hope to heck you receive a gazillion hits on this post, and even more stories of people who actually DO point with their foot when their hands are full. I am amazed that you have been on this planet as long as you have without ever encountering this before! All kidding aside, the best was hearing you laugh so hard your stomache hurt 🙂 If I get to hear you laugh like that at my expense, so be it, that makes me even happier.
    (But I still fail to see the extreme humour…..is it just because I looked funny doing it? I’ll have to do it looking in a mirror…..)

  2. chrisfiore5 Says:

    well, we had just finished a Corner Gas marathon…

Leave a Reply

