Kids STILL DO Say The Darndest Things

I used to enjoy Art Linkletter on television.  The funny thing is… I WAS a kid when his program was on and it is still true, kids DO say the darndest things.  But it was a different era back then.  http://tv.msn.com/tv/article.aspx?news=502263&gt1=28103

I read about a “busty” Barbie doll a woman was complaining about recently.   As if the old Barbie wasn’t unrealistic enough, now “implant” Barbie is finding her way into little kids toy chests.  (no pun intended)  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind a little glam on females.  But is this the role model we want to give to our kids?  How are they expected to measure up to this type of marketing?  (again, no pun intended)  Is to be voluptuous to be desired at such an age?

I was reading some material sent home to the kids from school a while back.  One of the brochures was talking about school life and activities, faculty and programs, orientation and schedules.  Then one pointed question leaped out, “Are you gay?”  and then addressed the feelings that are associated with not being sure if you are or not.  Hmmm… I wondered.  This for a child still in grade school?

My BB brought something to my attention this past week.  http://www.cbc.ca/arts/books/story/2010/05/19/tintin-court-case-brussels-belgium-racist.html  This series of books is a particular favorite of my step-son.  I don’t worry about the potential of him becoming a racist by reading a 70-year-old classic.  But I do wonder at the reasoning for addressing a childs  sexual preference at such a tender and impressionable young age.

Still, kids will be kids http://abcnews.go.com/WNT/video/remembering-art-linkletter-10754043 and I think Art Linkletter realized that.  Kids mimic their parents.  Kids imitate what they see on T.V.  Kids want to be accepted by their peers the same as we did when we were young.

I was out walking with the family the other night.  My BB and I discovered if we offer to buy the kids a treat, they are more than willing to walk the 4-5 blocks to the convenience store and back.  It is a win-win situation.  We get to go out and enjoy the fresh air and sunshine along with some incidental conversation, the kids get something sweet to eat.

While walking home the last time out, my step-daughter dropped her bottle cap on the sidewalk and just continued to walk along.  Since I was bringing up the rear, I stooped down to retrieve it declaring, “Hey! What’s up?  Don’t you want to save the earth for your children?”

“Naw.” she replied, “What for?  They’ll just ruin it.”

I had to think about that for a while.  When did she become so apathetic?  Then I remembered.  She was repeating what I had said to her in jest a week or so earlier!

Sometimes I think we are conditioning kids without realizing it.

Rest in peace, Art Linkletter. 

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Kids STILL DO Say The Darndest Things”

  1. make money quickly Says:

    I think this is a very real problem and I am glad to see that Harvard is covering it. I think images are the biggest threat, especially on social media sites like Facebook. It’s an even bigger problem now if Facebook profiles have become searchable in Google…oooch

  2. Ludivina Hendrixson Says:

    Thanks a lot for the article. I really enjoyed reading it.

Leave a Reply

