True Colors

Two Cents Worth in the Nickel City
True Colors
.

I went job searching recently.  I know what you’re thinking.  I’m supposed to have a job BEFORE I take up a writing career.  How can I be told after someone reads my column, “Don’t quit your day job ” if I do not have a day job?  In the States we call it having something “bass ackwards,” quite likely you have a similar phrase in Canada.
.

I am an electrician by trade.  We are supposed to be one of the professions that needs recruits.  Our numbers are dwindling, there will not be enough electricians in the next few years to meet demand.  When the power fails and your lights go out, who ya gonna call?  Imagine trying to watch television by candle light.  But that was before the Great Recession of 2008-_____?
.

I decided to use the local assistance organizations at my disposal, one of them being the Sudbury Vocational Resource Centre.  The nice folks at the SVRC help you with making a resume`and preparing for job interviews.  They provide resources like newspapers and computers to aid you with finding that perfect place for employment.  There are programs that direct you into different related fields you may be qualified for and help you adjust to the working environment.  One such program is called, “True Colors.”
.

True Colors helps to identify your personality traits and how you will mesh with co-workers.  There are four colors; Blue, Orange, Green and Gold, sort of like the four basic food groups or even…  the name of a rock’n’roll band, B.O.G.G. (Get bogged down, boggles the mind, all you need is bogg, the possibilities are endless! )
.

To help determine what your color is, first you are asked what color you THINK you are; Blue being romantic, Orange adventurous, Green cerebral and Gold conservative.  I picked blue because I feel that I am one of those thoughtful, warm, tender, passionate, kind, selfless, and affectionate guys.  Then came the questionnaire.  It had five rows, each row had four boxes, each box had three traits.  You had to decide which of the boxes in each of the rows best described you.  Naturally, I wanted to get as many right as I could, so I picked all the ones that fit my romantic, creative and unique side.  Turns out, I AM blue!  Now comes the part about getting along with others. So I did some mental calculations on blue screen.
.

If we compare employment to an artist, his palette will contain the primary colors; blue, red, yellow, but you have to blend primaries to get orange, green and gold.  If I am blue, I am a primary example of my trait.  If the oranges, greens and golds are secondary, they are subservient to the primary, which is me.  All Oranges, Greens and Golds are therefore inferior to Blues.  In the rainbow of the workforce, Blues are the predominant color of the arc.  Planet Earth is blue and there’s SOMETHING I can do!   I’m livin’ on blues power!    I shouldn’t be applying for a job, I should be running the friggin’  company!
.

Shucks,  I’ll fit in anywhere.

.

watch?v=NbS8JK4TS8Q

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “True Colors”

  1. MaryJoe Says:

    hey this is a real nice post and i also like your blog layout designs, have bookmarked your site and looking for more updates.

  2. Chantal Says:

    Great post, Mr. C……another little gem that makes me smile, confirming that I married the right man for me. My world has become aquamarine since you’ve brought your blues to mix with my greens….no coincidence that aquamarine is my birthstone.

    ….And that’s why I love you…..

    BB

  3. Nita Lowey Says:

    I really enjoy the quality information you offer to your visitors Will be back often to check up on new stuff you post!

  4. Dennis Rehberg Says:

    People have trouble coming up with new blog ideas oftentimes, and that’s okay. It doesn’t say anything bad about your ability as a blogger. It just means that you need to come up with a new method of developing Blog ideas. Your blog is always interesting with good fresh information. Thank you!

  5. Peter Welch Says:

    I can see that you are an expert at your field! I am launching a website soon, and your information will be very useful for me.. Thanks for all your help and wishing you all the success in your business.

  6. Tyler Chidley Says:

    greetings, i discovered

  7. chrisfiore5 Says:

    it’s good to be found, er… I mean, “discovered”

  8. Garry Class Says:

    Hey, I’d just like to say, what a informative article! i am just researching for my blog but i had trouble reading this post due to the text sticking out on to the side menu…. NVM! sorry, the problems my end, it is my outdated version of opera causing the fault. Could be worth asking peeps to update? Many thanks.

  9. outlet Says:

    A formidable share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing just a little evaluation on this. And he in reality purchased me breakfast as a result of I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I feel strongly about it and love studying extra on this topic. If potential, as you become experience, would you thoughts updating your blog with extra details? It is highly useful for me. Large thumb up for this blog put up!

Leave a Reply

