The Pen is Mightier than the Swine

Two Cents Worth in the Nickel City

The Pen is Mightier than the Swine

It seems that with every Spring a different mutation of the flu virus rears its ugly head and then the pharmaceutical industry races against time to come up with a drug to vaccinate the masses.   First, it was thought that the “swine” flu was caused by some inerrant association with pigs, but not the pigs themselves.  Then the WHO (World Health Organization, not the rock band) decides that the term, “swine flu” is detrimental to pig farmers and changes the “official” name to H1N1, (no relation to R2D2) because the flu is not being spread by pigs and eating pork is okay.  NOW  pigs in Alberta are being infected by the flu formerly known as swine by HUMANS.  Do we need to change the name again?  Is it safe to say that eating humans is not a good idea?
.

Contrary to popular belief, pigs are rather clean animals and fairly intelligent.  Pigs take to the mud because they have no sweat glands and this enables them to stay cool.  It also helps to rid them of insects and parasites.  Pigs protect their young, tend to congregate, and are choosy about where they leave their feces.  While most domesticated animals will just go when the mood strikes them, pigs choose a designated area all on their own.  On the list of creatures with the most intelligence on Earth;  pigs rank 4th  behind dolphins/whales, 3rd, primates (monkeys, apes, etc.) 2nd, and human beings, 1st.  So pigs are smarter than cats, dogs, and horses, but do not make good pets because they get bored easily.  Harry Truman, 33rd president of the U.S. was once quoted as saying, “No man should be president who doesn’t understand hogs ”  It seems pigs are often misunderstood.

.

WHO has estimated that 2 billion people could become infected with the swine flu.  That is a pandemic that would rival the Spanish flu of the 1920’s and the Hong Kong flu of the late 60’s.  With all the modern advances in medical research and preventative medicines, I thought we would see another wide spread flu like this again when pigs could fly, but hold on.  Now the WHO says that the swine flu has mutated with the bird flu.  We may have an entire animal farm flu before long.
.

As of this writing, the human/swine/bird  flu has been widely spread throughout Canada due largely from traveling back and forth to Mexico, where the flu is rampant.  They say that in order to prevent spreading the flu you should wash your hands (like your mother told you to do) after using the toilet and before eating.  It makes me wonder if we are being subjected to viruses simply because people are not educated about sanitary provisions in the work place?  Dirty handed workers handling pigs?  Oh!  The humanity!  How could this be?  We are first on the intelligence scale!  Cleanliness is next to godliness!
.

Now realistically, we cannot expect wash basins and soap for every hog lot in North America, but will somebody please give those Alberta pigs some disinfectant wipes?  

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “The Pen is Mightier than the Swine”

  1. The Advantages For Becoming Physician Assistants | Nursing Faculty Jobs Says:

    […] The Pen is Mightier Than the Swine « advantages of mutual respect … […]

  2. Karen Says:

    I had the H1N1 & it was the most miserable I think I’ve ever been. It was worse than the regular flu, which was bad enough that I got shots for it every year. Now the H1N1 vaccine can’t be found so easily. Nor can the regular flu, because the labs are spending their egg money on the H1N1.

    Hopefully the combined strain won’t make it this far south.

  3. The Pen is Mightier Than the Swine « advantages of mutual respect … | farmanimals Says:

    […] See the original post: The Pen is Mightier Than the Swine « advantages of mutual respect … […]

  4. Danny Cuomo Says:

    Hey BOBBY!! Awsome blog, this is my first time checking it out and I have to say i’m very impressed. But anywho I don’t have much time need to be getting some ZZzzzZZZzz plus the “wife” is waiting and looking over my shoulder.

    Just wanted to know how things were going and hope your doing well.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    Dan Cuomo

  5. chrisfiore5 Says:

    hello Karen,

    I have heard from several accounts the severity of this virus, and to have suffered it as you have done must have been traumatic. Hopefully you have made a complete recovery by now, my friend. Thanks for your continued support at AMRFP!

    hey Danny bobby!

    I’m glad you took me up on that invite! How are things going for you? Do you have all your shopping done? I look forward to meeting your “wife” someday but meanwhile… don’t be a stranger!

    peace

  6. Danny Cuomo Says:

    I’M BACK!

    Yeah I always wanted to check out your blog and its pretty awsome I gotta say. Things are going good for me, working again which is nice, and with some old friends, so its been a blast so far.

    They have me working with an Electrician Kalvin from Africa, and man is he ever smart. Not only that but he blasted me with tons of questions about our Canadian culture and I asked him all about his culture back in Africa, its been an experience! We also had a discussion about political correctness, it was hilarious, he asked me questions about why people here were afraid to call him black after I had just said that we was dark skinned in an attempt to not call him black. Needless to say I was caught off guard I was just trying not to offend him and still did it! Yes i’m that good haha. But anyways to cut it short and sweet, I tried to explain why we don’t, and he responded that it was ridiculous to be offended when someone says your black when you are.

    The conversation was very enlightening and left me with much of the same feeling I had when I would talk to you about life and other things which go on in day to day life. It must be the wisdom that comes with experience and age, I just gotta say that in the past few months i’ve changed the way I look a most things in life, and I believe its for the better. So I thank you for what you have shared and what you may still yet come to share. This would have been a perfect ending to my message however I don’t think i’m done answering your question, so I will continue haha.

    I have most of my shopping done I think i’m going to have to get back into town soon to get the rest, just not looking forward to it. Well someday we’ll have to set a date to watch an IMAX movie and you can bring your wife and I can bring my “wife”.

    But enough about me dude, hows things going on your side? You guys keeping busy? That reminds me that I still have to pick up my last check. DOH!

    See you on the flip side

    Danny

Leave a Reply

