Oscar Smoshcar; who won, who lost, who cares?

Default.aspx?cp-documentid=920968&imageindex=1

Well, it’s Oscar time… again.  I feel a little like Bill Murray in Groundhog Day when I say that.  Remember, he was living the same day over… and over… and over?  (a great Oscar nomination that wasn`t)  Why does it feel like we have all been here before?Groundhog_Day_(film)

Maybe the glam and glitter has been a little over sold here as of late.  I find that I really don’t care who wins or loses and would rather not have to endure another year of bad movies being acclaimed as something good, groundbreaking, redeeming or earth shattering.  The fact that Hollywood seems shielded from reality is never more apparent than on the eve of the Academy Awards.  It is a tough pill to swallow when most of the people are concerned about the economy and these people show up in limos and diamonds, but that`s entertainment, folks… you pay what you get for. 

…and the Best Picture Oscar goes to:  hmmpf!  My beautiful girl and I have made a promise that whatever film wins best picture we would make it a date to see it.  But let me look at these nominations again in no particular order, there is Slumdog Millionaire and then there is…  the rest.

Thankfully I have not seen any of the movies nominated, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Frost/Nixon, Milk, The Reader or Slumdog Millionaire so our pre-arranged date will not be re-watching a film we`ve already seen.  The odds on favorite is, of course: Slumdog Millionaire.

I have read how people are excited over this film.  They suggest that it will be a fine bridge between Eastern and Western culture.  But from the previews I have seen, it looks like an absorption of Western culture into Indian, and I find that kinda sad.  I like the thought of places that are exotic or foreign locations to be free of McDonald`s and Walmart.  I`d like for them to keep their identities and unique histories intact.  Of course, time marchs on and you can`t fight city hall.  Progress was Mayor Goldie Wilson`s middle name if you recall in Back to the Future (another great non-nominated film) Back_to_the_Future and we can`t stop it.  The future is now.  Everyone is on board the train to change. 

I like Ron Howard but I doubt that Frost/Nixon will be all that riveting, I mean… we know how it ends, right?  Brad Pitt is all that will come out of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button though the fantasy angle is pretty cool.  I don`t think  that Milk or The Reader will make it other than the possibility of Best Actor/Actress and that is okay, I`ll see either one of those at my leisure.

The Academy Awards has become more of an inner- political statement, otherwise The Dark Knight would have been inserted in there for sheer volume of dollars, but it doesn`t have the social clout of Slumdog Millionaire.  I don`t mean to be critical, but I`m still fuming over Tom Hanks not getting best actor for Cast Away. (should have been a Best Picture nomination as well.)Cast_Away

So… the Oscars are on tonight.  My selection for a date night movie rests in the votes of the Academy, which is all academic anyway.  We KNOW who is going to win, right?  But then again, everyone thought Brokeback Mountain would win a lot more than it did, including Best Picture.  Maybe Milk will make the up the difference.

http://events.ca.msn.com/oscars2009/Gallery/Default.aspx?cp-documentid=900532

But just once… I`d like to be surprised.  The time is now 6:39 pm,  Frost/Nixon anyone? 

peace.

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “Oscar Smoshcar; who won, who lost, who cares?”

  1. Karen Says:

    You guys are braver than we are. There is nothing on the list of films that either Chris or I would want to see.

    Or, as my smart alec son would tell me: “It ain’t Disney, Ma” & would leave it at that.

  2. marge Says:

    Cyndi said “Slumdog Millionaire” was very good and very Oscar worthy.
    I haven’t seen it.
    I did see “Benjamin Button” and it was very good and makes a person think of their own mortality.
    Just the special affects make it worth seeing.
    But of course every one has different tastes
    enjoy your date night.
    🙂

  3. msdane Says:

    You don’t care who wins? Are you sure you’re my brother? And whoever Karen is she is missing out if she doesn’t think any of the contenders are worth seeing. I strongly disagree. But then if she doesn’t see them how can she make a stand? I don’t think she can.

    As we all know now “Slumdog” won. It isn’t what you think. It isn’t India going Hollywood at all. Not the story anyway. Please let me know what you think of it. I also thought “Benjamin Button” was good. I almost consider “Gran Torino” a must see, but then that will be up to the academy for next year.

    Have a fun date night.

    Love, Cyndi

  4. Karen Says:

    I wasn’t taking a stand on whether a certain movie should win or not. How could I, since I hadn’t seen any of them?

    My husband & I will watch a movie if it’s on cable, or one that we want to buy. Not go spend the money to sit miserably in a movie theater, with the distinct possibility of not liking what we’re seeing.

    Add to that it seems like every time we go somewhere, an emergency call comes in that has to be handled. This is the downside of owning & running your own plumbing business. We have a VERY limited social life because of it.

  5. chrisfiore5 Says:

    well… perhaps I generalized a bit too much. (I’ve been doing that a lot lately, see: Why I HATE the Pittsburgh Steelers)

    It just seems that the Americanization of other countries is running rampant. Being here in Canada is one thing, because we share a border and a lot of history, but India? hmm…

    I do know we throw a bunch of work their way so maybe they deserve Walmart and Mc Donalds… but a funny thing happened just this past week-end.

    My computer was having a major malfunction so we called the 1-800 number and spoke to a very nice lady in B.C. She connected us to technical support which we assumed was in the same locale…? Nope, you guessed it, India.

    Our computer was not manufactured in India…

    peace.

  6. chrisfiore5 Says:

    Okay, as of this date I have seen Slumdog Millionaire twice. I enjoyed the movie very much.

    I think what threw me was the previews I had seen, with the dance number at the end… it appeared to be some kind of Grease rip off. I won’t spoil the content for those who have not seen it, but… as a form of retraction, I would recommend seeing the film. It was very well done.

    Was it worth 8 Oscars? Honestly, I don’t know… I have yet to see the other nominees.

    Surprise.

    peace.

  7. Upcoming Film Releases Says:

    I enjoyed this post and also wanted to point out that I really like the design and feel of your site. I am using wordpress as well on my blog but have been looking for a template like this which is much better than what I have. I see the theme is listed on the footer so I will take a better look at it.

  8. chrisfiore5 Says:

    hello UPR,

    thanks for the visit and welcome to wordpress. I’ve been here for nearly 4 years (has it really been that long?) and have found it very rewarding.

    I wish you continued success and I enjoyed MY visit to your site as well.

    peace.

  9. 10 top movies of the year Says:

    10 Top Movies Of The Year

  10. シャネル バッグ Says:

    あらまあ! とてつもない記事の男。 ありがとう しかし 私は経験困難ウルRSSで。ドン抰なぜそれを購読することができません知っている。ありますか誰取得同じ RSS デメリット?親切に応えます。| | 誰誰 は意識であることを知っている。 Thnkx

Leave a Reply

