what?

music-fabfourfotos

very cool pictures of the Fab Four

music-rollingstonecovers

Interesting that the first cover was of John Lennon.

.

I read this article the other day and decided to include it here, as well as the two links above because they are all kinda connected.

I find it interesting that the Beatles continue to make the news, nearly 40 years since their break-up but I have a hard time blaming them for the slump in the music industry’s album sales. I am willing to bet that if the music is good the people will buy it.

I have written about this before. (see, They Are Dumbing Down Our Rock and Roll, posted on 5-10-08 -) but now there is a little twist. In the link below the author concludes that when the Beatles started producing hits then the public jumped at purchasing their albums and killed off 45 rpm records. Except for the fact that nearly every song recorded on those albums was worthy of an audience. I can only think of two songs that we really could have done without and might not have stood alone. Flying, released on Magical Mystery Tour and You Know My Name (Look Up My Number) which was on the flip (B) side of the 45 rpm single, Let It Be. Otherwise each song was a classic and garnishes airplay to this day.

I love the CD Live At The BBC and I would recommend it for any Beatles fan. Not only are there performances of their own songs recorded on the air “live” but they also cover other songs not heard of on any other albums, including Anthology.

I suspect the music industry is a lot like the publishing industry. I read recently that there are 60,000 books published every year. 60k! Of those published, it is hoped that some will become best sellers. Perhaps the music industry is trying for the same thing, producing an onslaught of artists in hopes that some will be hit makers. I suspect that the movie makers do the same thing but here is the glitch.

You read a book what? Once, maybe twice…? You see most movies what? maybe once or twice…? You listen to your music what? several thousand times? The public might forgive the book publishing industry for printing a rotten book. The public might even over look stupid movies. But music is something different. I don’t know how many times I have liked an artist’s “hit” only to rush out and buy their album (CD) and find that the only decent song was the “hit” that I have heard on the radio repeatedly to where I have it memorized.

Now that iTunes has enabled us the ability to download individual songs we can sample what we like and reject what we don’t. Very cool. I like the substance of buying a CD and having something tangible in my hands, but not at the risk of having mediocre music. I’ll download the tried and true every time.

And the fact that the music industry kept CD prices high over the past few years is another reason to not buy from them, no one likes to be gouged. It stands to reason that as the CD’s became more prevalent and more people were buying them the cost would go down. The major manufacturers kept the price up at a premium for way too long.

So here is a suggestion. Find some real talent. Don’t be fooled by thinking you are giving the public what they want because obviously you are not… otherwise you wouldn’t be in the doldrums right now lamenting sagging record sales. Too many lackluster artists are spoiling the stew.

The Beatles were truly a phenomenon, as have been others past and present. Cultivate more artists, stay away from that “star” formula that has permeated the conscious of young America, it is killing you softly.

I have loved rock for a long time and the old songs still do it for me, but I am also capable of learning new artists and enjoy their stuff, too. Music is like that, we can never get enough of it IF the music meets our standard criteria, what ever the individual’s tastes are. Don’t let artists get lazy. John, Paul, George and Ringo never rested on their laurels… and their music still sells at a premium, you never see it at the bargain racks.

The recording industry needs to embrace the new media and make it better. Like Bob says, “Your old ways are rapidly fadin’…”

Check out the link below and let me know what you think…

http://www.comcast.net/music/blindedbythehype/4509/blamethebeatles/blamethebeatles

peace.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “what?”

  1. chrisfiore5 Says:

    and another thing. I heard a representative of the music industry complain that a person buying a device capable of holding 15,000 songs isn’t going to spend $15,000.00 filling it up at $0.99 a song.

    Well duh…

    That tells me the smart thing to do, the way to win back the public and make a “profit” would be to lower the price of downloads. How about a penny a song? 15000 songs would end up costing $150.00 which stretched over time could be managed by everyone.

    A little bit of something is better than a whole lotta nuthin’. Don’t you agree?

    peace.

  2. msdane Says:

    Like I always say, Beatles forever! Does me good to hear someone other than myself praise them.

Leave a Reply

