Not your favorite cover…

 

I am curious and so I read these “best of” lists with skepticism and some distain.  The one below did not disappoint.  Too many recent covers to be called the “best.”  If I am going to make a list of the “best” let the subjects stand the test of time.

I bought a book called “100 Best Album Covers” once, (see above) I still have it.  It is a great book with some selections I might agree with, but it omits some that I would have included.

Maybe you are like me with these “best of” lists, so check it out for yourself and see what’s missing.

 http://www.comcast.net/music/greatestalbumcoversofalltime/slideshow/view/

Album covers I would have included in no particular order and by no means exclusively: 

1)  Moody Blues, In Search of the Lost Chord

2)  Pink Floyd, Ummagumma

3)  Neil Young, Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere

4)  Jimi Hendrix, Axis: Bold As Love

5)  Derek and the Dominoes, Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs 

6)  Led Zeppelin, Houses of the Holy

7)  Quicksilver Messenger Service, Happy Trails

8)  Alan Parson’s Project, I, Robot

9)  The Beatles, Revolver

10) Bob Dylan, Highway 61 Revisited

11) John Hartford, Aero-Plane

12) Traffic, Shoot Out at the Fantasy Factory

13) The Doors, Strange Days

14) Jesse Winchester, Jesse Winchester

15) Steve Miller Band, Sailor

16) Iron Butterfly, Metamorphosis

17) Captain Beyond, Sufficiently Breathless

18 David Bowie, The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars

19) The Rolling Stones, Let it Bleed

20) Jefferson Starship, Dragonfly

.

I’m sure there are a jillion others out there, but the point is: a truly artful cover will compel a person to pick the album up and look at it whether you are familiar with the artist or not.  Most of these did that for me before I grew to love the contents.

I’d be curious to know what you think of this list, their list or make your own list and share it with me, just remember this…

most lists (including mine) suck.

peace.

P.S.  Wow, I woke up today and found out Akismet protected me from 19,999 spam comments!  Put that on a list somewhere…

 

   

Tags:

Leave a Reply

