friends

You can pick your friends and you can pick your nose, but you can’t pick your friends nose.

(anonymous)

.

My friends make me laugh.  I have one friend, Keith, who (when he gets wound up) is better than T.V. 

.

I’m not lackin’ in social graces

so lets get down to the Oasis

I’ve got friends in low places

(Garth Brooks)

.

There are different types of friends out there.  My fair one has become my best friend.  She has a way of seeing me differently…  the way I want to be seen, accepting my limitations as a failure of nature.

.

She’s got a way about her

I don’t know what it is

But I know that I can’t live without her.

She’s got a way of pleasin’

I don’t know why it is

But there doesn’t have to be a reason anyway.

(Billy Joel)

My business partner is also my friend.  We like and trust each other.  One will poke fun at the other and vice versa.  We work hard together without egos.  We enjoy our successes and support each other when times are rough.

.

I’ll be there for you

(when the rain starts to pour)

I’ll be there for you

(like I’ve been there before)

I’ll be there for you

(‘Cause you’re there for me, too)

(the Rembrandts)

.

We don’t get to pick our relatives, we accept them usually or reject them because of differences but  we are bound to them because of blood anyway.   We may not even like them. 

But I have relatives that I’m sure I would be friends with even if we were not related.  The fact that I do like them makes being family all the more sweet. 

.

Give me your hand – I’d like to shake it

I want to show you I’m your friend

you’ll understand – if I can make it clear

It’s all that matters in the end.

Put it there – if it weighs a ton

that’s what the Father said to his younger Son.

I don’t care – if it weighs a ton

as long as you and I are here, put it there. 

(Paul Mc Cartney)

.

The choosing of a friend is by mutual agreement.  You can’t call someone your friend if they run and hide every time you come near.  Likewise it would be difficult for them to lay claim to your friendship if you had never laid eyes on them.  The degree of friendship may not be equal between two parties, but the sentiment has to be shared to some extent.  It might not be a 50-50 arrangement due to circumstances like personality, politics or financial limits. 

But the old adage is true: in order to have a friend you have to be a friend.

 .

I had a friend who had friends by a river

they, too, had friends who had friends of their own.

(Terry Reid)

.

I have friends who have friends that I am not privy to, and that is okay.  Having a friend doesn’t mean exclusive rights to their attention 24/7.  Obviously, if there are traits and characteristics that I see and admire others will no doubt see them to a greater or lessor degree.  Having someone as a friend doesn’t diminish their fine qualities, but enhances your own.  Some friends may not understand what you see in other friends which shows your own diversity.  How boring life would be if we surrounded ourselves with people that were all the same.

.

From now on all my friends are gonna be strangers.

(Merle Haggard)

.

True friends are hard to come by.  It seems when times are good there is no shortage, but when the chips are down you may find friends to be scarce.

.

Once I lived the life of a millionaire

spent all my money, just didn’t care

took all my friends for a mighty good time

bought bootleg whisky, champagne and wine.

Then I began to fall so low

lost all my good friends, had nowhere to go

I get my hands on a dollar again

gonna hang on to it ’til that ol’ eagle grins

Cause, nobody knows you

when you’re down and out

in your pocket there’s not one penny

and as for friends, you don’t have any.

When you’re back on your feet again

everybody wants to be your long lost friend.

Said it’s mighty strange, without any doubt

nobody knows you when you’re down and out.

(Eric Clapton))

.

Yeah, we’ve all heard of those “fair weather” friends.  

The old saying goes, “A friend in need is a friend in deed.”  Now does that mean a friend in “deed?” like he will earn your friendship or does it mean “indeed” like when he needs something from you… he is your friend indeed! hoping you’ll bail him out? 

.

you never caught a rabbit

and you ain’t no friend of mine

(Elvis)

.

The Bible says… “there exists a friend sticking closer than a brother.”  I have one of those… he’s called my life long friend.

Through thick and thin, through the miles and years, through disagreements and misunderstandings I’ve had this friend.  When we get together, how ever long we’ve been apart… we’ll pick back up again where we left off.  He hasn’t aged and neither have I, we’re still the same two guys but with just a little more experience.  When he talks, I listen.  My troubles are his troubles, his successes are my successes and vice versa.  We lost that competitive thing years ago, now we are just happy to be along in each others company.

.

Lovely to see you again, my friend

walk along with me to the next bend.

(Moody Blues)

.

It has been said that a person could count all his real friends on one hand, that the rest of the people we meet in life are just acquaintances.  I like the philosophy of everyone I meet being a potential friend and I think that is the key to friendship in general, being receptive to it. 

I have many friendships of varying degrees, but only one life long friend.  And…

.

He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother

(the Hollies)

.

Life long friends…  on life’s sidelines cheering each other on.  Thanks, bro… for the good times then, now and those to come. 

peace… and vice versa

(scroll down)

                                                           

 

Tags:

5 Responses to “friends”

  1. Chantal Says:

    Great post…..I like these ones where I’m thinking of my own life as I’m reading about yours. This was a nice post to read, pause & think, then re-read again.
    Peace

  2. Cyndi Says:

    Hey. I know exactly how you feel. I’ve had many I called friends come and go, but my friend, Sandi, has always stood by me through thick and thin. Whether I’m doing well or not, she’s there for me with an encouraging word and a caring heart. A true friend is a treasure indeed. Oh, and I always took it as “indeed.” “A friend in need is a friend indeed”–meaning they are without a doubt, your friend. Or, as Webster puts it:

    Main Entry: in·deed
    Pronunciation: \in-ˈdēd\
    Function: adverb
    Date: 14th century
    1 : without any question : truly, undeniably —often used interjectionally to express irony or disbelief or surprise
    2 : in reality
    3 : all things considered : as a matter of fact

    Just my 2 cents worth. Love ya.

  3. For everyone who has a friend « Karen’s Rant Page Says:

    […] May 2, 2008 by Karen https://chrisfiore5.wordpress.com/2008/04/30/friends/#comments […]

  4. Karen Says:

    Words don’t do it justice.

  5. A friend with a brother too Says:

    I also have a friend who is my brother.
    I have two brothers but they are not my brothers like my friend is.
    My friend is my real brother. Always has been, will always be.
    I would give my right arm, left arm, my last dime, my life for him.
    He means that much to me.
    Always there when I need him.
    Always there when I need advice.
    Always there when I need support.
    Always there when I’m wrong or right.
    Has put up with my shit.
    He has been happy when I’m happy.
    He has been sad when I’m sad.
    He HAS ALWAYS stood next to me.
    I love him so much.
    He asked me one time – If there was anything you really wanted, what would it be.
    I gave a BS answer that was not that much BS.
    But if I had would have more time to think about it, I would have really been honest and said and added.
    I miss you and the times we had and times we wolud have if we were not so many miles apart.
    But the miles don’t mean a thing.
    Just knowing you are there for me when I need you is all I need.
    Very nice post my friend.
    Peace to you.
    ps.
    Chantal.
    Love him with all your heart as you do now as much as he loves you.
    He has so much to give and give and never asks more for anything back.

Leave a Reply

