Free Indy

May 22, a date that will live in… well, the Indiana Jones’ series history.

That is the release date of the much anticipated sequel to the Indiana Jones trilogy, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.

Like everyone else, I am a huge fan… but I have to add this asterisk.

I wrote my own Indiana Jones screenplay some time ago. I don’t know the premise of the new sequel, it doesn’t matter… this one would stand on it’s own.

Much of the Indiana Jones fervor had died down back when I contemplated my story and I thought I knew why. I had an idea that I wanted to submit to somebody, ANYBODY to keep the franchise going. Not that it needed my help, because fans of the hero have survived nearly two decades awaiting this upcoming adventure. But because I was so enthralled with the character that I didn’t want to see him fade into oblivion, I wrote mine.

.
Try as I might I couldn’t get anywhere with my idea. Lucasfilms rejected me with the utmost courtesy because my request for a review came unsolicited. I can appreciate that. These days everybody has an idea, everybody has a screenplay and everybody thinks their idea has been plagiarized and wants to sue. I just wanted to give Indy a way out and I think I have succeeded.

I’m glad they finally agreed on a story, but I think mine would be better…

First, I would like to thank Steven Spielberg, George Lucas and Harrison Ford for coming together once again for this next (last?) go round with the beloved character of Indiana Jones.

Second, I would like to apologize to Steven Spielberg, George Lucas and Harrison Ford for what I am about to do, i.e. publish my own screenplay on this blog.

and now the disclaimer….

________________________________

.

THE FOLLOWING SCREENPLAY IS AN UNAUTHORIZED WORK. IT IS NOT SANCTIONED, APPROVED OR CONDONED BY LUCASFILMS, STEVEN SPIELBERG, GEORGE LUCAS OR HARRISON FORD. IT IS A WORK OF FICTION AND OFFERED FREELY AND WITHOUT COMPENSATION. IT IS INTENDED FOR THE PRIVATE USE OF THE READERS OF THIS BLOG AND ANY UNAUTHORIZED DUPLICATION IS PROHIBITED.

.

_______________________________

That being said….

I offered the following as an introduction on my original screenplay.

.

Introducing Indiana Jones and the Dance of Aldebaran.

This script and its inquiry were rejected by Lucasfilms 3 times without being read. I wrote it on a lark because I believed that the character deserved more than the “grow old and die” ending that was painted for him in the Young Indiana Jones Chronicles.

Indy was a hero in a time when the world needed heroes, but that hour never seems to pass for his audience. Larger than life characters need more than to succumb to the frailties of mere mortals. We want them to always be there; ready to emerge once again whenever they are needed. It is my hope that this story will give fans of Indy’s the satisfaction of knowing that no matter what, heroes live on.

For continuity it would be helpful if the reader was familiar with the Indiana Jones trilogy as well as the characters from the book, “Lost Horizon” by James Hilton and/or the movie starring Ronald Colman.

.

I will offer Part 1 on Wednesday the 20th (the date of the 20th has been good to me as of late 😉 ) and will continue on with the remainder of the story until it’s completion. If you are a fan of the franchise I hope you will feel I have done the character justice. If you are not, my readership has just been knocked down substantially… which usually happens when I do this sort of thing.

I just hope I don’t get sued.

peace.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

