It’s New Year’s Day 2008! (Scroll back, ya varmints!)

Can you believe it? another year has passed and what have we accomplished here? Hmmm…

Well, this New Year’s Day is AMRFP’s 201st entry. It has been a hit and miss affair as far as certain topics are concerned, readers feedback has been sporadic. Amazingly enough… some of my favorites have garnished the fewest hits, while the ones that seemed insignificant blasted the charts! I feel like Tommy Smothers or the court jester under the employment of the king. Can’t bite the hand that feeds you, but then again… I don’t want to lose my objectivity, that would be blogareer suicide.

My friend, dame… over at “matters of little consequence” recently wrote an interesting post about getting through Christmas. Sad day when the holidays catch us as burdensome rather than what they were intended to be… a time to be with family and friends. Perhaps with a sweetheart lounging on the beach, kissing in broad daylight while the whole world passes by and who’s to care? Perfect Christmas time when alligators made of sand greet you instead of snowmen… warm island breezes instead of arctic wind chill… glorious sun instead of overcast skies.

I wish I were there with you still, my fair one… the world could’ve ended then and I would have been satisfied. Lets keep the mas in Christmas.

Yes, the end of the year… a time to pause and reflect. This blog saw almost double the entries I posted in 2006, perhaps I have become too blabby in my old age…

Some were videos which is a poor substitute for good writing (or bad, depending on your view point) but I thought most of them were relevant to an adjoining topic, I tried to use them sparingly…

But for better or worse, in reverse order from last posted to the first…

scroll back…

peace.

.

1)  Shades of Hemingway/ Medium Exposure  Parts 1-12 and epilogue… a joy for me to write but my hits for December were the lowest since the posting of the original Shades of Hemingway way back last spring.  I should’ve known better but “I say what the hey… people get that way…  I get that way, too.”

2)  Prelude to Shades of Hemingway / Medium Exposure… prophetic introduction but who listens to the voice of reason?

3)  A Holiday Wish… posted on 11-12-07.  Expounding on the frailities of life and it’s aftermath

4)  Ode to Daily Readers… I have one or two, perhaps you?  thanks for the encouraging words and frequent flier miles  😉

5)  …underwhelming… one of my favorite recent posts, life is like a box of chock ‘o’ nuts

6)  SPACE… the final front tear…   The fact that we all need a little space is not wasted here

7)  Love Should (video)… introduced to me by my #1 fan, and she is right (plays into the next entry, rules of engagement )

8)  rules of engagement…  All’s fair in love and bologna?  I am a firm believer in love, love above all else… I am a romantic, I make no bones about it

9)  convertible therapy…  Sometimes you just have to go out and burn a little ethanol

10)  A Spiritual Man… my so-so attempt at lyrics, but the inspiration remains true.  My fair one makes me feel like my sins have been atoned for

11)  rude, crude, lewd and socially unacceptable behavior… Love will make you crazy, this is my account of one instance where my emotions got the better of me

12)  Marry Me (video)…  A great song and request.  I posted it for the L&M entry, but it stands alone for it’s message… which shot me right through the heart

13)  L&M…  Love set to the tone of Romeo and Juliet, but without the sad ending and the thee, thy, those or what for

14)  Goodbye! … it’s great to be back again… My vacation and the advances I made on finally meeting my true companion

15)  Michelle (video)  these are words that go together well.  Posted for Love is… an entry and inspiration that I am most grateful for

16)  Love is…  This post, above all others… changed my life.  Before… I hoped she did, from this day on… she knew she would.  Glorious

17)  the other life I should have led…  We all wonder what might have been, here are a few of mine

18)  Goodbye freebee T.V… set to the tune of the Stones, Ruby Tuesday

19)  Goodbye Ruby Tuesday (video) for Goodbye freebee T.V. for those of you who couldn’t catch the riff

20)  Thank You…  acknowledging the best month ever for AMRFP

21)  Ben & Ted’s Abhorrent Misadventure… Alaskan politics at it’s finest and who are we kidding? it’s the same all over

22)  TMTV (video) information on the misconduct of Senator Ted Stevens

23)  live and let liv tyler… there’s just not enough love in the world

24)  Dear Abby, “ma’am” and me…  I love Dear Abby and this was a tribute to her advice column

25)  Dear Abby (video)  self explanatory

26)  The Brave Highway… my life at a crossroads, speed bump ahead

27)  Sunday Morning Coming Down (video)  posted for The Brave Highway

28)  learn to avoid Internet scams!  …good advice

29)  pass it on… our sometimes not so subtle influences

30)  Amazing Guitar Player (video)  definately lives up to it’s hype, this one serves as an inspiration

31)  I Never Thought I’d Live To Be A Hundred (video) posted for Live to be 100 entry

32)  Live to be 100…  live like you weren’t dying (for a while)

33)  What If God Surfed the Internet?  …inspired by damewiggensoflee and written to the tune of One of Us

34)  One of Us (video) …in case you couldn’t catch the riff

35)  I’m Too Sexy for S.W. Airlines… written for the passengers that were asked to leave their flights because of the clothing they wore… was that a threat to national security?

36)  I’m Too Sexy (video) …in case you couldn’t catch the riff

37)  Leave Britney Spears Alone… a parody of Leave Virginia Alone this entry garnished the most hits on this blog EVER in a single day

38)  Leave Virginia Alone (video) …in case you couldn’t catch the riff 

39)  Yikes! discomblogulation… why do we blog?

40)  just another day in paradox… our fine government at work covering up

41)  Just Gimme Some Truth (video) posted for just another day in paradox and expresses my sentiments towards the Bush administration

42)  Hey Jack Karouac (lyrics)… follows the video

41)  Hey Jack Karouac (video) … in celebration of AMRFP’s 10,000th hit

42)  You’ll Be in My Heart (video)  … a promise to a memory

43)  Whispering Pines (video)  … music from a period in and around the post My First Bicycle

44)  My First Bicycle… a tribute to the memory of my brother-in-law, Bob Henderson

45)  Viva Las Vegas (video) …follows CD’s & Elvis as apropos to the theme

46)  CD’s & Elvis… marks the anniversary of Elvis’ death and the invention of the Compact Disc

47)  Rehab (video) … in case you couldn’t catch the riff

48)  rehab redux… based on the song by Winehouse, she is one messed up chick

49)  as time goes by (video) …the fundamental things apply

50)  I’m in repair (video)  … recovering from a broken romance

51)  new socks… same ol’ jaw …some people can write about anything

52)  bad attitudes, sick bastards and cheaters win… got some flak on this one in my comments section, which was kinda cool

53)  today is the best day ever! woo hoo!  …and it was until Leave Britney Spears Alone

54)  no time for the blues… or how to recover from them

55)  Gravity (video) precedes no time for the blues

56)  I Believe In You (video)  follows What I Believe and seemed to fit

57)  What I Believe… well, it’s about… what I believe

58)  Running on Faith (video) follows Death, where is thy sting?

59)  Death, where is thy sting?  …written for a friend who lost a loved one

60)  What a great idea!  …something to make you think about fairness in our government’s welfare policy

61)  A Good Line With High Extentions…  a link to another site I enjoy

62)  How come it always parades on my rain?  …I’d still like to know the answer to that one

63)  7-7-7  (unlucky in love but still willing to gamble)…  title says it all

64)  Don’t You Love Me Anymore (video)

65)  It’s Over (video)

66)  Life By The Drop (video)

67)  Please Forgive Me (video)

68)  breaking up is hard to do…  painful but true

69)  See SiCKO (b4ubasicko2)… this film makes you think.  Panned by the critics but, you be the judge

70)  Hello Hillary… last attempt to influence the candidate.  Interestingly, though she has never written me, I am on her e-mail list.  ha

71)  and still more pet peeves!  …gosh, I enjoy complaining

72)  the illegal immigration solution, conclusion… a 3 parter that began last year

73)  Whilst I was away… catching up on the events that were going on that I didn’t comment on while I was posting Shades of Hemingway that I might have if I hadn’t taken the time to post Shades of Hemingway.  Does that make sense?

74)  Shades of Hemingway… 13 parts and a prologue, lowest read posts of the year… but don’t let that stop you 😉

75)  Ladies and Gentleman, for your listening pleasure…  a tribute to Jesse Winchester

76)  sunrise… sunset and the we in between… reflections on the life we share

77)  Hello Hillary… more questions for the Democratic candidate (unanswered, of course)

78)  Viacom needs a hug… poor major conglomerate needs a little sympathy

79)  Everyday (video)  … I love this Dave Matthews Band song/video , goes well with respect your elders and admire them… it is the beginning of wisdom

80)  respect your elders and admire them… it is the beginning of wisdom…  which I think is good advice no matter who you are

81)  the definitive 200?  …lists suck (unless they are mine)

82)  amazing juggling finale… a keeper, I still enjoy watching this one 9 months after the posting

83)  hopeless romantic…  wax on, wax off about me wanting to be

84)  Have You Ever Really Loved A Woman? (video)  works well with  hopeless romantic 

85)  Hello Hillary… more unanswered questions for the Democratic candidate

86)  Comfortably Numb (video)  goes with traffic jam

87)  traffic jam… who hasn’t fretted about this?

88)  Save It For A Rainy Day (video)

89)  save it for a rainy day… you better

90)  black and white… oooh, started off innocent enough but boy did I catch the dickens over this one in my comments

91)  undercurrent with my big toe… and you thought my avatar was computer generated

92)  birthdays… na na na na na na… na na

93)  Hello Hillary… more unanswered questions for the Democratic candidate

94)  72 degrees in January… the fear factor

95)  Hello Hillary… more unanswered questions for the Democratic candidate

96)  the best dadgum country song, period!  … at least, I think so

97)  Hello Hillary… more unanswered questions for the Democratic candidate 

98)  people in the No…  people should know better 

99)  Hello Hillary… first letter to the Democratic candidate

100)  Flowers are better than bullets… remembering the Kent State Massacre

101)  the good ol’ days…  weren’t always good, tomorrow’s not as bad as it seems

102)  Let me call you sweetheart… though this was my first entry in 2006, it re-occurs as one of the most popular topics of the year for this blog.  Great fun for me to write as well as the reflection it creates

.

Looking forward to a full and productive year in 2008.  Thanks to you, faithful reader, for making it all worthwhile.

Keep them comments coming…

peace.

9 Responses to “It’s New Year’s Day 2008! (Scroll back, ya varmints!)”

  1. It’s New Year’s Day 2008! (Scroll back, ya varmints!) · Gimme More Says:

    […] post by advantages of mutual respect and fair play and software by Elliott […]

  2. chrisfiore5 · Gimme More Says:

    […] post by advantages of mutual respect and fair play and software by Elliott […]

  3. babychaos Says:

    That’s a busy old year and who cares if the hits dropped in the Hemingway series, the point is you enjoyed writing it and what’s a blog for if it’s not somewhere to enjoy writing your… well… writing!

    Here’s to a fine and dandy 2008!

    Cheers

    BC

  4. chrisfiore5 Says:

    thanks bc,

    you’re right, of course…

    always good to hear from a fellow nonconformist

    peace to you in 2008

  5. unrealnature Says:

    Hey Chris,

    Wishing you a happy new year. Only had time to read today’s post on your blog, but I enjoyed reading the list and filliing out the plot with my own fabrications. Made a great story…

    Take care.

    -Julie (Unreal Nature)

  6. chrisfiore5 Says:

    yo jules,

    thanks for the return visit…

    have a gr8 2000ate

    peace

  7. sleepyjane Says:

    Hi there! HAPPY NEW YEAR! Thanks for sopping by my blog, I’ll be sure to have a look around yours. 🙂 And here’s to an awesome 2008!

  8. sleepyjane Says:

    Errrr, I meant sTopping. 🙂 *blush*

  9. chrisfiore5 Says:

    hey sleepyjane,

    you’re welcome… thanks for sTopping by.

    peace.

Leave a Reply

