rude, crude, lewd and socially unacceptable behavior

Okay… it was a bit crazy today.  Perhaps frantic.  Frantic is good… let me explain.

 I hate to shop, I’m using the word hate here… about shopping, I hate shopping.  hate it.  I want to do my business and leave.  get my shit and get… don’t doddle, don’t browse, don’t want a free taste of something, don’t want to know about falling interest rates or the “buyers” market here in Florida.  don’t want cookies, don’t want my car washed, don’t wanna donate to your cause… don’t wanna shop! but I’m here… let me get on with it.

 Usually I know exactly what I want.  If I go to the grocery store… I have a list.  If I go to Best Buy… I’m there for  particular item,  If I’m buying a CAR… I know what I want.  don’t wanna shop, don’t care what’s on sale… don’t care about new releases… don’t wanna hear about miles per gallon or customer satisfaction.  Don’t make me shop!  I am here to BUY.

Today I was looking for an item from out of the blue… didn’t get much time to think about it…  just reacted, got impulsive… went “shopping.”  I was looking for a poster, a reprint of art… recommended by someone.  I wanted to have this art for my own, I wanted to look at it everyday and be consumed by it… me, “the consumer” being consumed by art.  I wanted to have that part of me that linked to this other person deepened with the possession of this piece of mutual admiration.  Did I mention I hate to shop?

So I went to one store, an artsy store… with crafts and knick knacks, frames and reprints… artsy stuff!  cool, I was own my way.  I asked a woman about art reprints, she pointed to a rack, I commenced “thumbing” through.  Marilyn Monroe,  Cassius Clay knocks out Sonny Liston… lots of art here, retro posters from a century ago, flowers, vases… flowers in vases.  No luck, no good… flipped them all.  Went back to the woman.  “Do they categorize these in any particular order?”  No, they ship stuff out, we stock it.  No catalog, no reference point… just blind thumbing.

Another store, close at hand… nothing.  Another store, further on… nothing, they recommend first store I visited.  What is this, a conspiracy?  I leave third store and head to a different part of town, the largest arts and crafts store in the area.  I walk in and ask the nice lady, “Art reproductions?”  She points to one side of the side of the store, “All along that wall.”  And she was right!  Racks of art work, framed, unframed and reproduction prints.  Utopia! Now I just have to find the piece I am caught up with, the art that I long to behold… that which has been shown to me and has sent me “shopping” because of the bond we share.

 First rack, nothing.  1920’s, Chicago World’s Fair, Coca Cola, more Marilyn Monroe… Jack and Jackie at Camelot, the 3 Stooges,  Michael Jordan  (Michael Jordan?) more flowers…

Next rack, nothing. Da Vinci reprints, man with golf club during Empire State Building construction, King Kong… this is futile.  Other people mill about, looking and taking their time… “shopping.”  I want my item, I want to get it and leave.  I don’t want to delay, please move aside.  I’m certain what I’m looking for is where you are.  They move, I search… nothing.

All around the racks I search, just as I am coming to the end of the last row… a couple of “shoppers.”  They congregate at the end, the last two sections of reproductive art.  They look at Marilyn, “She was so beautiful.”  He looks at it and nods.  She pulls out flowers.  “Where would we put this?”  He shrugs, she puts it back.  I’m done, I’m up to that part of the store and if what I’m looking for is not there, I’m done.  I stand close, they are thumbing… I look busy, I look over their shoulder, I sigh, I stand… I KNOW what I am looking for is in THAT section on THAT rack.  She pauses and pulls out… and this is poetic,  Edvard Munch’s…  Scream.  “What about this?”  He looks at it, he is contemplating… like he is at some friggin’ multi-million dollar auction and about to put a bid on a Van Gogh. 

I want to scream, “No! you don’t want that you stupid shits! move out of the way!”  But I am patient, I wait.  I look at other things.  wire baskets, weaved frames, flowers, vases… flowers in vases.  He decides no, they return it.  They edge over just enough and I pounce.  They look at me like I’m a crazy man, but I’m on a mission… I’m focused.  I know it is here and I’ll find it.  Next to the last rack, nothing.  Last rack, slower this time… looking at each one; Marilyn, ten car garage, palm trees (in Florida? who would’ve thunk it?) Coca Cola, World’s Fair… it’s not here.  It’s not here.  I shopped.  I did the work… I waited, I was calm… it was nowhere to be found.

I walk to my car,  The Kiss by Gustav Klimt, that’s what I want… the art I want to share, the scene I want to gaze upon and wrap myself up in the blissful notion that there is my own true love out there and looking on simultaneously as we touch each others souls.  I am dejected… defeated.  I hate to shop. 

I know why now, what I want is never there.  I wasn’t shopping before, and I found what I wasn’t looking for… the girl in that portrait, Klimt’s “The Kiss.”  and there is irony here…

I found my copy online.

peace. 

28 Responses to “rude, crude, lewd and socially unacceptable behavior”

  1. babychaos Says:

    There’s me just about to suggest you try some on-line Museum shops… I bet the Fitzwilliam down the road has it and bingo, you’re a mile ahead of me! So with you on shopping, I research, I decide, I go to buy and so often it’s not there! 😉 But you sometimes end up with things you need, all the same. As you say… much like life.

    Cheers

    BC

  2. 1poet4man Says:

    Funny – sweet, and true…Thanks

  3. pottery » rude, crude, lewd and socially unacceptable behavior Says:

    […] came across this post – rude, crude, lewd and socially unacceptable behavior – and thought it was worth sharing. I hope you find it interesting too and take the time to read […]

  4. Karen Says:

    This post is why I love Amazon.com so very much! Books, movies, gifts for out of state relatives, to my husband’s table saw. And, because I’m a member, no shipping charges on second day.

  5. yojoe Says:

    You should have bought the poster of Heather Thomas wearing the pink bikini in the hot tub. That poster is way more awesomer.

    http://www.art.com/asp/sp-asp/_/pd–10102728/Heather_Thomas.htm

    yojoe

  6. chrisfiore5 Says:

    thanks… one and all for the comments, shopping will always be right up there with having my teeth pulled, I afraid.

    yojoe, thanks for the thought but I have my own poster girl in mind…

    peace.

  7. think and eat different Says:

    gluten free life

    ebook download site

  8. createmo Says:

    Thank you for your site 🙂
    I made on photoshop backgrounds for youtube, myspace and even more
    my backgrounds:http://tinyurl.com/6rbxmr
    Hope you had a good day and thank you again!

  9. Hey! It’s 2011! Scroll Back, Ya Varmints! « advantages of mutual respect and fair play Says:

    […] rude, crude, lewd and socially unacceptable behavior October 2007 8 comments 3 […]

  10. 50014 Says:

    I’m studying at West Virginia University and I would like to convey my appreciation for your help toward people who need help with this one subject. Your serious dedication to getting the answer out there looks to be very useful and has allowed students much like me to arrive at their desires. Do know that this work means a lot to all of us.

  11. Candice Says:

    Both caffeine and nicotine are very powerful stimulants that
    can trigger anxiety attacks if consumed in excess. Phobia
    is the irrational, excessive and exaggerated fear
    of objects which frequently present little or no real
    danger to the person. We get butterflies in our stomach during a blind date.

  12. Rudolf Says:

    Although most medication labeling states dosages according to age in years,
    you should consult your pediatrician if your child falls
    within those age ranges but is significantly heavier or lighter than other
    kids his or her age. is manifest as temper tantrums, active defiance of rules, dawdling, argumentativeness, stubbornness, or being easily annoyed (p.
    Here, you will learn how to set goals over the course of your
    study that will confront these challenges and optimize
    your time.

  13. wordpress.com Says:

    Ask yourself, how is it that the majority of things on the IARC 2B list, including engine exhausts, DDT, Kepone (also known
    as chlordecone, is a carcinogenic insecticide), PCBs and other industrial agents, receive serious regulatory attention.
    The good news for those who have reached that place, is
    that, it is still possible to reverse the plague of cancer.
    After fifty minutes, brain scans showed increased glucose levels in the region of the brain near the active phone.

  14. social media marketing issues Says:

    Though its a known fact that smm strategies are
    one of the most important things for any kind of business today, only a few marketers succeed in
    effective implementation of it. Send tweets with tips and suggestions that are related to your business.
    But, measuring tools for marketing can be a
    daunting task.

  15. wooden shed plans designs Says:

    Personality homeowner can come to life on the shed
    wall. It might even be necessary to take everything out
    of your shed to see exactly what is in there.
    Using the level, check to make sure the foundation
    is level.

  16. http://wallinside.com/post-4846630-advice-from-the-best-multi-level-marketing-success-stories.html Says:

    If you want to know about the online and offline marketing then please visit.
    Rather a website is always created for a real organization having real
    goals. These are just some of the ways that show that what you do online is not only making a difference to someone
    but also making them take action.

  17. http://bitly.com/ Says:

    Unlike all kinds of other auto drip coffeemakers this
    does not have a hot plate and that means you do not must worry about cooking your coffee.

    As far as environmental waste, being that you are able to use reusable
    filters much like the My K Cup and Solofill, discarding
    plastic k cups after every brew isn’t required.
    Buy an assortment pack, give them a go all, and locate a new
    favorite.

  18. Swen Says:

    There are three required core courses, namely: (1) “Soils for Environmental Professionlas” (2) “Environmental Soil, Water and Land Use” (3) “Forest and Soil Ecosystem”.
    There are many basic elements in landscape backyard design that should be incorporated into your landscape design.

    If you choose a fountain that is too big for your garden
    it will dominate the area and eclipse your entire garden.

  19. http://www.selfstorageowner.com/press-releases/phonesmart-hawaii-unconference-com-typo-contest Says:

    The final option is to have the panels pressure treated;
    this allows you to never worry about treating
    the shed yourself as the pressure treatment will fully protect the wood.
    Holes should be just slightly larger than diameter
    of dowel. For example, next to the pool if
    it’s to be used as a pool cabana or near the garden if you’ll use it to store garden tools & equipment.

  20. magnolia tree zone 5 Says:

    As most fences are a shared cost, neighbors are quick to
    be concerned about the effect of an overgrown tree branches resting near or on the fence.
    Contact Ethos Mentor () for additional assistance and business coaching.
    All you need for this project are a bunch of cheap craft beads and some
    pipe cleaners.

  21. shipping and define fulfilment services Says:

    Reliability is the one of the most important
    aspects of the shipping companies. Some of the people celebrate this
    day with their family by organizing party and gives various
    type of gifts to their family member and beloved ones.

    with the main objects of carrying Shipbuilding and Ship Repair business.

  22. best cordless drill company Says:

    I don’t even know how I finished up here, but I thought this post used to be good.
    I do not recognize who you are however certainly you are going to a well-known blogger should you are not already.
    Cheers!

  23. India Says:

    Researching and preparing for any contingency involving shipping can help increase business owner’s sales and reduce
    time consuming problems. Both you and your buyer will receive the tracking number via email.
    Your Owned Domain or Country Based Domain Owned by
    Actfind.

  24. Laurel Says:

    However, as far as muscle mass building workouts are concerned, the exercises
    involving these 2 muscle groups’ offer very little in
    terms of muscular size and growth. Go all out, give 100% and keep it intense and brief.
    Many people think they should take a lot of diet additives to achieve their goals.

  25. Jannette Says:

    Gentle Wool Rug Cleaning Solution: If beating your wool rug doesn’t remove as much dirt as you’d like, you can wash your
    wool rug in a mild vinegar and water solution.

    You may use it to get rid of the soil from your tiles and grout also.
    Engine degreaser such as Castrol Super Clean is also an answer to cleaning heavily soiled carpets.

  26. http://www.eventbrite.com Says:

    You need to look for high quality, professionalism, comparable costs and
    timely service. Surefire cost cutting stategies for your company to reduce
    Freight and Parcel Cost. First, have brick-and-mortar store owners really been moaning
    and whining about being used unfairly as nothing more than
    show windows for Internet vendors, the way legislators claim.

  27. pregnancy miracle hoax Says:

    When a woman is pregnant, there may be some weight gain.
    No part of this article may be reproduced without prior permissions from the author.

    The laws to follow when starting a new small business depends on three major factors.

  28. www.articlesnatch.com Says:

    Do not believe the tag stamped around the jewelry including 14 karat or 18 karat because
    that could be done easily. charm bracelets are produced from solid bases that can be made from several materials.
    Wearing certain kinds of jewelry features
    a status mounted on it – wearing high-end, rare, and exquisite accessories is really
    a sign of wealth that many want to flaunt.

Leave a Reply

