Death, where is thy sting?

I have this friend who has recently lost first her father and then just last friday her mother to death.  It has been a very hard ordeal for her.  Just reading the bits and pieces of what she has shared with us has really brought home the fact that we are never quite prepared for the eventuality that must claim us all.

Now I wonder why.  Why is it so hard to accept the fate that we are born into, and why does it always seem as such a surprise to us when the collector comes around and that debt is paid?  We realize the change of the seasons is the life cycle of the earth.  A cocoon brings forth a butterfly, eggs hatch into baby chicks, plant a seed and it will grow.  If we live, we must also die.

The Bible talks about how God has put eternity into our minds.  We envision our lives going on and on.  To die for us, even with the history of mankind so blatantly frank, seems un-natural.  It may happen to everyone else, but somehow we are going to avoid it, or so we may think.  Not that we actually have a secret way to cheat death, we just are so pre-occupied with the mundane pursuits of this life that we don’t want to think about it.  Woody Allen said it well, ” I don’t mind dying, I just don’t want to be around when it happens.” 

The American Indians had the philosophy that “today is as good a day as any to die”  which I probably saw in a movie somewhere but it sounds feasible that the original inhabitants of this great land might live that code so I don’t mind relating the point.  We might think that way in principle but when it finally comes around to facing the enevitable all we can think of is what we have left un-done, what we haven’t yet accomplished, or what will happen to those we leave behind.

Jesus said, “I am the resurrection and the life…” and that leaves hope for us and those that have preceded us in death.  The Kingdom we are instructed to pray for has not been realized here on the earth yet, but we can’t think that God’s plan has been thwarted… after all, He is the Almighty.  What He sets out to do He will accomplish.   It might do us well to believe in that promise, but in the meantime…

I wish I could tell you that I have worked out a compromise with that great enemy of humanity, but I haven’t.  I’d like to think that there is a better place for mankind and during my Bible studies I have come to hope for it.  I’d love to be able to put my arms around all those aching hearts, soothe those weary minds and release those troubled souls, but I haven’t the power to do so.   But I will offer this…

Those things that you fear leaving un-done… do.

What you have yet to accomplish… secure.

And if you are worried about who you might leave behind… make plans for them, forgive them or tell them you love them, now… don’t wait.

Life is too short to leave with regrets.

For you, damewigginsoflee.wordpress.com

peace.

  

4 Responses to “Death, where is thy sting?”

  1. karen62979 Says:

    This one got to me.

    I still have my mother, luckily. But she’s 72 now, not a young woman.

    Next month, on the 27th, it will be 24 years ago that I learned about the death of a loved one. Since I managed to live through the hardest thing any parent ever has to live through, I know I can handle anything else.

    I feel for Dame Wiggens. I’ll say a prayer for her.

  2. gabrielae Says:

    I still have both my parents. Yes, I too am lucky. Your post is really thought-provoking. I guess my greatest fear is not my own death, but the death of my loved ones. Take care.

  3. damewiggy Says:

    I am so entirely touched by this. Thank you so very much for having me in your thoughts, and for expanding on something more — you tapped into some very important universal truths. I’m not sure what i’ve learned from all of it yet. But i’m pretty sure that i fear my own death less than those that i love; fearing they suffer in any way, be it physically, mentally, spiritually. There’s incredible isolation in death, of that i have no doubt. God comforts some.

    I’ve said it before, and i’ll always say it. You’re an incredibly special person with beautiful and exceptional qualities and insights. And i’ll be forever pleased and grateful to have experienced you, my friend.

    thank you,
    dw

  4. Stop the PANIC Says:

    Anxiety Attacks

    PANIC AWAY

Leave a Reply

