breaking up is hard to do…

I am a  louse, unthinking, not caring… I don’t deserve to live…. (perhaps.)

I am a typical male, though I try hard not to be… (it is my weakness.) 

I don’t drink, smoke or do drugs.  I bathe daily.  I am not abusive… I don’t stay out late.  I work.  I am responsible… (these are my strengths.)

I try to be considerate, I have empathy… I show tolerance, I adjust… (my moral compass.)

I love romance… long walks, black and white movies, poetry, good books, and conversation… (my desires.) 

I am affable, I like a good joke…  tell me one, if I have heard it I’ll laugh at the effort… (my personality.) 

and music, gotta have music… all shapes and sizes, I might sing along or alone… (it is my joy, nothing more.)

am I generous?  ask anyone… do I have faults? ask them, too… ( I am human.)  

do I have faith? in the Almighty?  yes… in the good of mankind? yes… in myself? yes… in you? please let it be so… (I hope, I also…  dare dream.)

.

Since Annette has decided we must part I have done much soul searching.  Could I have done better? yes…  Could she have done better? yes… 

Is my life over?  no…

peace.

11 Responses to “breaking up is hard to do…”

  1. babychaos Says:

    Hey, you’re just human like everyone else. No harm in that, the trick is forgiving yourself, once you can do that, it makes it much easier to forgive others!

    Take care you.

    Cheers

    BC

  2. freevolition Says:

    I’m sorry to hear this. Tis a very difficult experience to go through and somehow for some reason it seems more difficult for a man to go through. I surmised this from my experience with my son’s marital break-up. He took the burden of failure upon his shoulders when it was a load that he never should of had to carry. Unfortunately (or perhaps fortunately) we cannot reach inside another individual and flip a switch from negative to positive. The inner switches of others is something totally out of our realm of accessibility.

    I’ll remember you in my thoughts and prayers during this difficult period of your life.

  3. seamonster02 Says:

    You forgot something – you are a wonderful father despite the lack of examples in your young life. (acheivement)

    When a relationship isn’t “right” at its basic level then no amount of anything you try will make it whole. All a person can do is take from it what good they can and let the rest go flowing on down the river.

    Dwell as near as possible to the channel in which your life flows. –Henry David Thoreau

  4. Cyndi Says:

    You will get through this. I know it is painful–it always is Even if you are the one who wants the break-up it is still painful because you grieve because of the death of the relationship. But you will get through it.

    As seamonster02 said, you are a wonderful father, a good, decent man and one of my favorite people in the whole world. I feel a bond with you that I don’t feel for our other siblings. I don’t know why for sure, maybe it is because we grew up together and went through a lot of the same things together, but I do know it is Annette’s loss and she will regret it one day.

    I trust you more than anyone else I know and I don’t easily put my trust in people anymore. Keep your chin up.

    Love,
    Your big sis

  5. freevolition Says:

    Just came back to say that although I’ve never met you face to face I love your mind. I love you as another member of the human race. (Recommended reading: The Four Loves by C.S. Lewis)

    Isn’t it amazing, though? None of us deserve to live and yet we do. What a wonderful gift of grace has been bestowed upon us!

  6. damewiggy Says:

    warm thoughts your way, friend. it’s a very, very difficult thing.

    you know where i am should you need a friendly ear, one that’s been there.

    take care.

  7. karen62979 Says:

    It will get better, this I can promise. Take it from one who’s been there & back again.

  8. emilysalas Says:

    Hey- if relationships aren’t for anything else, they exist perhaps to teach us more about ourselves. Look within yourself and you’ll find all you really need there. After all, our first and last love is self love. Relationships can be a beautiful thing. . .maybe that’s why we continue to pursue them even through the pain we endure.

    “I hold it true, whate’er befall;
    I feel it, when I sorrow most;
    ‘Tis better to have loved and lost
    Than never to have loved at all”

    -Tennyson (I Envy Not in Any Moods)

    PEACE LOVE DOPE!

    Em

  9. Grace Says:

    Having just gone through a breakup a few months ago myself, I totally get you. Don’t give up…Some people come into our lives for a reason, some for a season, and some for a lifetime. I’m finding that as I spend more time looking for things to be grateful for from this past relationship, the healing is happening faster. Peace!

  10. feelingflirty Says:

    I hope you get things sorted out very quickly and your sadness turns into happiness before you know it.

  11. Meet Christian Singles Now!, FR.EE Christian Dating Site Says:

    FR.EE Christian Dating Site

    Meet Christian Singles Now!, FR.EE Christian Dating Site

Leave a Reply

