hopeless romantic

I have to admit it from the start… I prefer the company of women.  I don’t think that makes me any less macho or a real feminine type, I mean… I work construction, for cryin’ out loud!  I enjoy time out with the guys and talkin’ with the guys and doing the things that a group of men do, but I find more stimulation with the fairer sex.

Now I know right away most heterosexual males are going to say, “Who doesn’t?” but I mean mentally as well as physically, socially as well as philosophically.  Women are more prone to be emotional, they temper their thoughts and actions with feeling and I find that beautiful… 

Men want to fix things, they want to work out problems, find solutions and move on.  Men are hunters, leaders, and adventurers.  Men are thrill seekers, men are conquerors, men want to be kings of the castle and modern day Don Juans.  Women, for the most part, want to be loved, nurtured and protected.

I know there are exceptions to the rule and please don’t think I am being a “typical man” here, but women blossom when they sense they are loved, but like a flower they need attention, assurance and care.  I think men forget that, I know I do sometimes and it freaks me out when I discover how simple a relationship can be… give a little, get a little.  Give more receive more in abundance.  I love being a man when I feel the love of a woman, it makes me complete… I am fulfilled.

For the past two days during lunch (at different times and places) I heard this Bryan Adams song play.  The first time I heard it (yesterday) I thought, “Oh yeah, that song… what a good song… blah, blah, blah.”  Then I heard it again and I had an epiphany like 76 trombones leading the big parade… I really do love a woman and perhaps I don’t live up to every decree the song makes, but I am willing to work on it.  I think that is what makes for a lasting relationship, don’t you?  Two people willing to work out their differences and make allowances for each others shortcomings must be doing it for love, that is the only motivation that makes it all worthwhile.

So Annette, when you read this… if you read this, I love you.  Thank you for making me a better man.

enjoy the video…

peace.

14 Responses to “hopeless romantic”

  1. kaity1983 Says:

    Good luck.

  2. chrisfiore5 Says:

    thanks

  3. freevolition Says:

    Sounds like you married your right woman. 🙂

    Biblically, a part of man was removed to make the woman (a rib). She was bone of his bone and flesh of his flesh. Therefore part of the man was missing until the woman was presented to him. The woman completes the man.

    As much as today’s society tries to group the genders into one homogenous lump, there are many distinct differences between male and female. They go together like peas and carrots (to quote a very wise man by the name of Forrest Gump)! 😉

  4. girl behind the lens Says:

    this was an amazing thing to read…

  5. girl behind the lens Says:

    this was really wonderful to read…

  6. chrisfiore5 Says:

    thank you, girl behind the lens, for both comments… looking forward to seeing more photos.

    peace.

  7. damewigginsoflee Says:

    Awwww, i’m all weepy now!

    Why is it that when men spill some heartfelt imagination and emotion, it’s so much more impressive than the sappy gender!

  8. chrisfiore5 Says:

    confidentially to damewigginsoflee, we men have to get up to your level every once in awhile… it is like stickin’ a “get out of jail free” card under the monopoly board. You never know when you might have to use it!

    peace.

  9. joatmon Says:

    All men should feel like you…Anette is a very lucky girl!

  10. marina Says:

    That is so very very sweet 🙂 I do hope that Anette is touched by this lovely gesture 🙂

  11. Yabo Says:

    “We come to love not by finding a perfect person, but by learning to see an imperfect person perfectly.”

    – Sam Keen, from To Love and Be Loved

  12. chrisfiore5 Says:

    well said, sam! and thanks for the quote, yabo!

    peace.

  13. Cyndi Says:

    Wow, what a beautiful thing to write. I’m impressed. If more men were like you there would be fewer unhappy women!

    Love ya.

  14. marizen Says:

    hmmm… were you “in the dog house” when you wrote this?! because the only time men write something like this is when they’re in trouble. 😉 JUST KIDDING!!! haha
    seriously though— this post is extremely sweet of you. it’s not everyday you find a man who knows how to truly appreciate a woman. i mean, you guys are practically on the Endangered Species List! hehe…
    well, here’s another quote for you…

    “What-to-Love is a fundamental human problem. And if we have this solution – Love what may Be- we see that this is the way Reality loves – and that there is no other loving that lasts or understands.”
    — Love Letters, (Extract from one of Mary Haskell’s letters dated 2nd February 1925)

    have a good one!

Leave a Reply

