The best dadgum country song, period! (The Honeymoon’s Over)

.

You won’t run and fetch my beer the way you used to,

them ol’ blue jeans seem mighty snug on you.

You say my hair is turnin’ grey,

there’s a bill I’ve forgotten to pay.

It’s a shame we have to change our point of view.

.

You never used to need a pill to fall asleep with,

those gentle sounds I make at night are a rare gift.

You may toss and turn a while,

but I still wake up with a smile.

The bright good mornin’ in your voice gives me a lift.

.

The honeymoon’s over

the fairy tale comes to an end,

the honeymoon’s over

now the real love begins.

.

The appeal of movie stars still makes your heart faint,

but there’s more therapy in watchin’ peelin’ paint.

Just give me the remote control,

channel surfin’ cheers a weary soul.

I know your Momma will enjoy the show;  baby, don’t be late.

.

The honeymoon’s over,

the fairy tale comes to an end.

The honeymoon’s over,

now the real love begins.

.

The honeymoon may be over here… we know that’s true,

but I’m still sayin’ it loud and clear…  honey, I love you.

So until death do we part,

you’ll hold the place dear to my heart.

Real lovin’s gonna be the change in our point of view.

.

The honeymoon’s over

the fairy tale comes to an end,

the honeymoon’s over

now the real love begins.

.

copyright 1995,  revised 2007

.

When I set out to write “the best dadgum country song, period!” I thought, ” What would be the worst possible thing that could happen between two newlyweds?”  and of course comes the line:

“you won’t run and fetch my beer the way you used to” 

which is tragic, and then what else but…

 “them ol’ blue jeans seem mighty snug on you”? 

which is the end of the world.

It was fun for me writing this “country” song.  It may not be “the best dadgum country song, period”  (?) but I hope you enjoyed it. 

peace… ya’ll

6 Responses to “The best dadgum country song, period! (The Honeymoon’s Over)”

  1. Sheilz Says:

    Nice to listen to a song that depicts the brutal honesty of life in marriage.
    So who sings this?

  2. chrisfiore5 Says:

    yours truly… author, singer and promotional director! Thanks for the compliment… peace.

  3. babychaos Says:

    It’s up there with “Drop kick me, Jesus, through the goalposts of life”.

    Cheers

    BC

  4. zappoman Says:

    I went on a camp out this weekend with a bunch of first grade girls (father daughter weekend) the point is, I read them all Cinderella (the Disney Version) at their request…

    But one of the girls, who is a real crackup, told me before I started reading the story… “I just read a version of Cinderella that was really strange… it just kinda ended after the evil sisters tore Cinderella’s dress and left for the ball… It just ended, just like that… I thought a page was missing but it just ended.” I said, “really, that’s sounds like the reality version of the story.”

    Turns out, these girls get it, they get it’s all fake and just fantasy… but they still didn’t want me to stop reading when I got to that page in the story. Oh well, I guess we all have to have our fantasies too.

  5. Audrey Says:

    I love those lyrics! I might have to agree that’s the best country song ever written. What a great theme to write about.

  6. pistolpete Says:

    Great song. A vaguely recall a song that would be a good follow-up to this (not sure the songwriter). It goes something like this: Put another log on the fire/Fix me up some bacon & some beans/Go out to the car and change the tire/Wash my socks and sew my old blue jeans/ Oh baby, you can fill my pipe/Then go fetch my slippers/Then pour me up another pot of tea/Then put another log on the fire, Baby/And come and tell me why you’re leavin’ me.

Leave a Reply

