social insecurity

I received this little ditty in the mail the other day from my Uncle Sam.  It had a history of all the monies I had “contributed” to social security.  It spoke of being able to retire at age 62.  (a LONG time from now)  Reading this report didn’t really make me feel good about my financial status towards retirement.  How could anyone live on $33.50 a day?  in the future, my future.  (a LONG time from now?)

I wonder about the future sometimes; where we’ve been, where we are going… where the money’s gone.  I don’t know if I’d have saved that money (probably not) would I have invested it wisely (probably not) and would I have been in better shape today if I hadn’t been forced to contribute to a faulty institution? (probably)  Why? 

Well, look back on the programs of the past and trace their progress.  Has our society really benefitted regardless of how nobly they might have been promoted at the time?  And social security is a good idea, but I think way back prior to the establishing of the current Social Security system, the government should have taken it to the people and mulled it over with them.   It could have gone something like this:

.

Uncle Sam:  Johnny, a penny saved is a penny earned.  On top of the interest the bank pays you for your initial investment, I’ll match all the money you put in until you reach the national average earnings for 5 years.

Johnny:  How will that help me now?

Uncle Sam:  It will teach you that if you want to get ahead in this world, you are going to have to get an education, get a job and work deligently towards your future.  Make a positive contribution to society and I will reward you. 

Johnny:  But why can’t you just give me the money now? 

Uncle Sam:  Well, Johnny… I’d like to, but human nature tells me that you’d just become a fat, lazy slob.  You’d never want to clean your room and you’d live at home until you were 35.  How would that aid in your future security?

Johnny:  I might be able to get something to eat now!

Uncle Sam:  Johnny, Johnny!  Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day, teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime!

Johnny:  Can’t you just print me up a bunch of money as I need it now?

Uncle Sam:  Now what legitimate institution on Earth would work that way?

.

Don’t get me wrong I think the government should help in the promoting of good citizenry, but we the people have to do our part.  We have to work to help ourselves first.  If we start out walking on our own, we may stumble and fall a few times, but eventually we’ll get the hang of it. 

If we are carried everywhere we go, there would be no incentive to learn to walk.

Leave a Reply

