sacred words sung to Beatles music

God said to Abraham, “Kill me a son.”

Abe said, “Man, you must be puttin’ me on!”

God said, “No.”     Abe said, “What?”

God said, “You can do what you want, Abe, but the

next time you see me comin’ you’d better run!”

Abe said,”Where do want this killin’ done?”

God said, “Out on Highway 61…”

(from Highway 61 Revisited by Bob Dylan)

.

You know, just when I think I’ve heard it all something comes along that restores my faith in stupidity.  I was driving home and passed a church with the banner “Sacred Words Sung to Beatles Music” on it’s little marquee and I had to pull a u-turn just to pass by and re-read it to make sure I’d read it right the first time… and I had!  I have been a great opponent of God’s message being mixed with Rock and Roll but after seeing that I marvelled at the possibilities.  Here are a few I came up with…

.

Oh yeah, I’ll pass you somethin’

I think you’ll understand…

when I pass that somethin’

I want the gold from your hand!

I want the gold from your hand,

just give the gold in your hand.

.

So what do you think?  Not bad for my first effort, right?  Wait!  I’ve got another one…

.

You think you lost His love,

well, I saw God yesterday.

It’s you He’s thinkin’ of

and He told me what to say…

He loves you! and you know that can’t be bad.

Yes, God loves you! and you know you should be glad! whoooo!

.

Okay, maybe that one’s not as good as the first but I think I’m on a roll here.  See if you can catch the rift on this one.

.

Jesus was a man who condemned self righteous stoners

but He knew it couldn’t last.

Jesus gave a meal that was called the Last Supper

once He’d done a 40 day fast.

Get saved!  Get saved!  get back to where you once belonged.

.

Okay, okay… maybe that one sucked but let me try just one more…

.

For the benefit of Jesus Christ

there will be a show tonight

on  T.V. screen,

the holy ones will all be there

hopin’ that you’ve come to share

your hard earned green!

.

All right, I’ll stop now.  But does anyone besides me see the irony here?  John Lennon once said, “We’re bigger than Christ!”  Which in effect, they were at the time but the religious leaders of the day condemned the Beatles for that statement.  It was their own failings as leaders of the people that brought validity to that utterance and they couldn’t stand it.  

Which inspired John to write:

.

Standin’ on the dock at South Hampton

tryin’ to get to Holland or France.

The man in the mac said, “You’ve gotta go back!”

You know they didn’t even give us a chance.

.

Christ! you know it ain’t easy

you know how hard it can be?

The way things are goin’

they’re gonna crucify me!

.

Funny how things get turned around, “Sacred Words Sung to Beatles Music”?  Almost worth the price of admission…

2 Responses to “sacred words sung to Beatles music”

  1. Resource and Information Says:

    Resource and Information

    Resource and Information

  2. What I Have Written, I Have Written « advantages of mutual respect and fair play Says:

    […] http://advantagesofmutualrespectandfairplay.com/2006/12/05/sacred-words-sung-to-beatles-music/ […]

Leave a Reply

