irrefutably 44th avenue south

I wish I were a songwriter… 

I think the world needs an outstanding one right about now.  Not that there aren’t any good  writers out there (because there are), but I mean we need a troubadour and we need one badly.  The times definitely could use some changin’.  Wouldn’t it be nice if we could take the qualities of some of the great ones both past and present then roll them into one for the new millennium?  I mean,  lets face it… the 2000’s have been kinda bland as far as someone coming along stirring up social change, and it is not because it isn’t warranted… we just need a push in the right direction.

If it were up to me I’d make him have the convictions of John Lennon,  (see the blog  #9  for more on that subject)  the humility of George Harrison,  (see the blog  I Still Miss George ) the political savvy and poetic license of Bob Dylan and the smooth,  melancholic tenderness of Jesse Winchester.  I know it wouldn’t be easy for him because the world (Americans in particular) has become so apathetic.  We might over look his message because of its forthrightness and sincerity.  We are not used to being directed in the ways of wisdom, political integrity and compassion, but we need to be.

If we had a time machine and went back 40 years or so and witnessed the social conscience of the public,  we would be amazed…  and if they could jump ahead to our time I think they’d be appalled.  Their question might be,  “Did we give up or did we just stop trying?”  Was the world not listening or did they just refuse to hear?  Words like…

“Come gather ’round people where ever you roam… and admit that the waters around you have grown and accept it that soon you’ll be drenched to the bone.  If your time to you is worth savin’… then you better start swimmin’ or you’ll sink like a stone,  for the times they are a-changin’  ”   Bob Dylan

“I’m just sittin’ here watchin’ the wheels go ’round and ’round, I really love to watch them roll… no longer ridin’ on the merry-go-round,  I just had to let it go…”   John Lennon

“Sunrise doesn’t last all morning, a cloud burst doesn’t last all day… seems my love has up and left you without warning, but it’s not always going to be this grey.  All things must pass…  all things must pass away.”  George Harrison

“It’s true we live in a great big tear but the world above will never harm us here.  Oh, I… I just wonder where would I be without the tears I cry… unless you’re from another star,  tears are part of what we are. ”  Jesse Winchester

In my little neighborhood on 44th avenue south people would hear the minstrel’s songs and be touched, they would yearn for social equality and be moved, they would realize that in this big, bad, beautiful world of ours… we all want the same things.

Life is just too short for some folks, for other folks it just drags on.  Some folks like the taste of smoky whiskey, others figure tea is too strong.  Well, I’m the type of guy who likes it right in the middle, I don’t like this bouncin’ back and forth.  Me… I want to live with my feet in Dixie and my head in the cool, blue North.”  Jesse Winchester

“I look at the world and I notice it’s turning, while my guitar gently weeps.  With every mistake we must surely be learning, still my guitar gently weeps.”  George Harrison

“There’s room at the top they are telling you still, but first you must learn how to smile as you kill.  If you want to be like the folks on the hill.  A working class hero is somethin’ to be…”  John Lennon

“And if my thought-dreams could be seen, they’d probably put my head in a guillitine.  But it’s alright, ma, it’s life and life only.”  Bob Dylan

Big shoes to fill,  but just a little footprint forward…  a generation awaits, another needs awakened…  all we need is a step in the right direction.  I think we are ready… how ’bout you?

 

3 Responses to “irrefutably 44th avenue south”

  1. visionsbobdylan Says:

    I like your sentiments-why dont you write a song yourself?? Although songs dont change things forever, as your post proves.

  2. kerri Says:

    i didnt think anyone actually read my blog. wow, i feel nice that someone did. As you may have noticed, i share your apprietiation for music…good music….ie: Beatles. And i agree with you on this blog 100%.

    where are all the good songs anymore. and genuinely talented songwriters?

  3. What I Have Written, I Have Written « advantages of mutual respect and fair play Says:

    […] what this blog needs, to get back on track.  Perhaps its original destination has detoured a bit, http://advantagesofmutualrespectandfairplay.com/2006/10/13/irrefutably-44th-avenue-south/ but it’s intentions were […]

Leave a Reply

