5 – 5 – 5

I know what you’re thinking… 2 posts in one day, how did we get to be so fortunate?  Well, it is a rainy day and there ain’t much on T.V. so…

Whenever things get me down (yeah, it happens to me, too) I like to reflect on all the positive things in life.  I feel it really helps boost the ol’ soul engine, if you get my meaning.  There are many things going on around us that we cannot change or perhaps even influence.  But there is much to be grateful for.  I think we sometimes forget the blessings we receive and fail to recognize because of their simplicity…  in everyday items, like pizza.

Pepperoni and pineapple has got to be one of the greatest taste sensations known to man.  Blend that with a deep dished saucy crust  and you have a blissful  indulgence un-parallelled in the annuals of dining.  I enjoy curling up with my remote, Coke and pizza and watching old black and white movies.  Can’t imagine ever feeling blue during that time, especially if it is a Bogie and Becall flick or a Tracy and Hepburn.  Times were much simplier then, actors had to act…  locations were real and special effects meant scenery whistling by a car window.  Classic movies are a reward unto themselves.  When the pizza executives came up with the idea of three for 15 bucks they definately got my attention.

Ice cream is another food group that does not allow me to be in a bad mood while partaking of its flavor.  I can’t imagine anyone feeling suicidal while eating ice cream, it is that good.  About the only down side to ice cream is choosing which flavor to buy.  I can stand in front of the freezer at the local grocery for what seems eons just to select the one that properly suits my mood.  Not that there is any BAD ice cream (except for coffee, ugh!) but each has its own unique qualities that will best serve my particuliar need.  Most frequently purchased:  Rocky Road, Neopolitan and French Vanilla.  Ice cream on a hot, summer day restores my faith in science.

Popcorn.  I love popcorn.  I didn’t realize how much I loved it until I had to be without it for awhile.  When it returned to me, I proposed.  Popcorn at the theatre is a must.  (I don’t enjoy the movie houses like I used because of unruliness, cell phones and airborne germs but popcorn is a great equalizer that makes me tolerant)  If I have popcorn, twizzlers and malted milk balls even a movie with Jennifer Lopez doesn’t seem half bad, unless I consider the acting.  No, popcorn is a happy food and mood altering.  If during WWI they were hurling popcorn balls instead of hand grenades the armistice would have come months earlier.

One final food that I’ll mention here is corn on the cob.  I don’t think a sit down meal with family, (especially on a holiday)  can be complete without corn on the cob.  Steaming hot with real melted butter (salted to taste, ofcourse) is pure heaven.  Can you picture an argument or any other unpleasantries while hunkering down on fat morsels of juicy yellow nuggets of corn?  No, ofcourse not.  A family gathered around to break bread has got to be one of the most satisfying experiences a person can have, and probably one of the most overlooked.

Oh, there are many other things to lift me from the doldrums that I won’t go into now.  But the key to me has always been the simple things, the ones we sometimes take for granted, like friends and family, a good book or a blazing sunset after a lingering thundercloud.  Rainy days like today aren’t dampening to my spirit, hopefully the rain doesn’t come down too hard upon yours.

2 Responses to “5 – 5 – 5”

  1. seamonster02 Says:

    This entry for some reason makes me think of the huge Sunday dinners Mom would cook. We’d all get together at the gray house and spend hours visiting, playing, and just enjoying family. I miss that old gray house and the sound of Mom working in the kitchen – fussing over the food to make sure everyone had exactly what they liked. 😦

  2. chrisfiore5 Says:

    Hey K, you know those were the days… especially if we had company. I don’t think I’ve ever sat at a table that had three types of potatoes prepared the way Mom used to do as a matter of course. It’s funny… but I miss that old house, too.

Leave a Reply

