7-up

Seven seems to be a pretty lucky number for some folks, for others it means very little.  If you’ve done something up to 7 times, that is a pretty big deal, don’t you think?  Hmmm…  let’s examine that…

 Bob Seger had 7 albums out before he nailed the hit, “Night Moves” and went off into super stardom.  Now I’ve always liked Seger, but can you imagine 7 albums with little or no acclaim?  Then boom, a number one and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.  On the other hand, the Moody Blues did 7 albums (now called the classic 7) and then did 7 more with several personnel changes in between.  I love the Moodies, but the classic 7 are their best collective efforts, each song blends perfectly into the next like nothing I have ever heard.  Their last of the classic 7 was appropriately titled, “7th Sojourn”.  That era, that visit was a brief one at best.  Bob Dylan’s seventh album, “Blonde On Blonde” signaled a change on the horizon in his musical style.  Pink Floyd had 7 albums that gave them a cult following of sorts, then delivered “Dark Side of the Moon”.  My favorite songwriter, Jesse Winchester spaced 7 years between his sixth and seventh albums.  (Then 11 years passed before the release of his 8th!  Haven’t figured that one out either.)  Even the Beatles 7th album, “Rubber Soul” paved the way for the ultimate rock album “Sgt. Pepper”.  What is it about the number 7?  Is it really lucky?  Or is it all just an amazing coincidence?

Let’s see, there are 7 days in the week, 7 wonders of the ancient world, 7 Dwarfs, 7 deadly sins, Popeye the sailor sailed the 7 seas, there were 7 brides for 7 brothers, there’s “Yeah, I’m the one they call the 7th son”, the Hootchie Cootchie Man was born “on the 7th hour, of the 7th day, on the 7th month, 7 doctors say…” he even had 7 hundred dollars and told you not to mess with him.  I wonder if he would have seemed quite as intimidating if he only had $699.50?  There was the Magnificent 7, the 7 Year Itch, the 7th Calvary, 7 Years in Tibet and the 7th Voyage of Sinbad.  Seven even has religious, mystic and astrological connotations.  Think 7th Heaven. 

December 7th, 1941… a date that will live in infamy.  But did you know that on that date 67 years earlier President Ulysses Grant in his sixth annual message to the House and Senate mentioned educating Japanese youth in America?  He also brought up the benefit of learning the Japanese language.  Talk about foresight.

A rainbow has 7 colors. 

Even as I write this 7th entry I realize it is the 7th day (Saturday) of the week!  And the disco favorite, “Saturday Night Fever” was realeased in ’77!  Yikes!  What is it about the number 7?  If you have any insight on this phenomenon, please let me know!

My uncle, the great inventor, came up with a soft drink that he called five up.  But try as he might the drink never took off.  Some time later he made some improvements and re-named it six up.  Unfortunately, he died shortly thereafter… never realizing how close he came to success… 

8 Responses to “7-up”

  1. ShamWow Says:

    Nice post.. keep on writing these great posts! I will be subscribing 🙂

  2. Alica Says:

    I do not even know the way I ended up right
    here, but I believed this put up was great. I do not recognize who you might be but certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger in case you are
    not already. Cheers!

  3. Place for anyone who wants sociable information Says:

    I have read so many content on the topic of the blogger lovers except this piece of writing is truly
    a good piece of writing, keep it up.

  4. Oldboy Télécharger Le Film Says:

    Admiring the time and energy you put into your blog and in depth information you provide.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information.
    Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  5. Top Eleven Football Manager Tokens Hack Says:

    Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest
    writing a blog post or vice-versa? My website discusses a lot of the same topics as yours
    and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

  6. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dumpster-Rental-Atlanta/621446591287818 Says:

    Hi there! Quick question that’s entirely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My
    web site looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4.
    I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to
    fix this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.

    Many thanks!

  7. Caren Says:

    Hello. Only needed to question a quick query.
    I am arranging my own blog in addition to
    want to learn exactly where you were given ones theme? Ended up being that free of charge?

    Or even ended up being it settled? I am unable to manage to locate whatever as effective as this place,
    thus with luck , you’ll be able to let me understand.
    Thanks. PS, my personal apologies. British is just not our initial words.

  8. youtube.com Says:

    Hi. Simply just desired to request a quick dilemma.
    Now i’m assembling my own, personal web site and would want to realize in which you have the topic?
    Ended up being that totally free? Or ended up being the item compensated?
    I cannot appear to discover anything as good as this blog, and so hopefully you are able to well then,
    i’ll know. Many thanks. PS, the sorry. The english language seriously
    isn’t my initial vocabulary.

Leave a Reply

